Pope Benedict XVI Confers the Title of Monsignor on Nine Priests in the Archdiocese of Baltimore

Archbishop Edwin F. O’Brien, Archbishop of Baltimore, announced today that Pope Benedict XVI has conferred the honorary title of Monsignor on the following nine priests of the Archdiocese of Baltimore:

  • Rev. Richard J. Bozzelli, Pastor, Corpus Christi Church, Baltimore
  • Rev. William A. Collins, Jr., Associate Pastor Emeritus, Holy Family, Randallstown
  • Rev. Carl F. Cummings, Pastor, St. Jane Frances de Chantal Church, Riviera Beach
  • Rev. James W. Hannon, Pastor, St. Ann, Grantsville, St. Gabriel, Barton, St. Joseph, Midland, St. Michael, Frostburg, St. Peter, Westernport
  • Rev. J. Bruce Jarboe, Pastor, Church of the Crucifixion, Good Shepherd Church, and Holy Trinity Church, Glen Burnie and transitioning to Rector, Cathedral of Mary Our Queen, Baltimore
  • Rev. Edward M. Miller, Pastor, St. Bernardine Church, Baltimore
  • Rev. Richard J. Murphy, Pastor, St. John the Evangelist Church, Frederick
  • Rev. Jay F. O’Connor, Director, Office of Clergy Personnel
  • Rev. Kevin T. Schenning, Pastor, St. Joseph Church, Fullerton.

Monsignor Collins, who retired earlier this year after working for nearly 40 years in the Metropolitan Tribunal, received the title of Prelate of Honor to His Holiness.

Monsignors Bozzelli, Cummings, Hannon, Jarboe, Miller, Murphy, O’Connor, and Schenning were named Chaplains to His Holiness.

The priests were informed of the honor at a luncheon earlier today at the Archbishop’s residence. “I am grateful to the Holy Father for affirming the outstanding contributions of these fine priests, who give so much of themselves for the glory of God and the spiritual growth of His people,” Archbishop O’Brien said. “Such recognition is particularly challenging in this Archdiocese, which is blessed to have so many dedicated and faithful priests serving in parishes, schools, and other institutions.”

The honor of conferring the title of Monsignor is given to the Holy Father upon the recommendation of diocesan bishops to acknowledge the contributions that a priest makes to the wider Church community. The investiture ceremony will take place on Sunday, March 7 at 5:30 p.m. at the Cathedral of Mary Our Queen.

Sean Caine

Sean Caine is Vice Chancellor and Executive Director of Communications