Three Area Catholic Schools Receive 2014 National Blue Ribbon School Award

Earlier today, the U.S. Department of Education announced that three Catholic schools in the Archdiocese of Baltimore are among a select group of schools nationwide to receive the National Blue Ribbon School of Excellence Award. The School of the Cathedral of Mary Our Queen, Baltimore, Immaculate Conception School, Towson and Our Lady of Grace School, Parkton bring the total number of Catholic schools in the Archdiocese to receive this honor to twenty-one. The designation is the highest academic honor bestowed upon a school by the U.S. government. The schools will be honored at a ceremony in Washington, DC, November 10-11.

“It is with great joy that we celebrate the accomplishment of three more Catholic schools being awarded the prestigious designation as a Blue Ribbon School of Excellence. This academic honor reflects the excellence of our Catholic schools and the commitment of our outstanding teachers, students, and parents.” said Dr. Barbara Edmondson, Superintendent of Schools. “Each year, our schools continue to build upon the outstanding legacy of Catholic education that began here in the Archdiocese of Baltimore over 200 years ago by providing an academically-excellent, faith-based education and an unparalleled foundation for every child they serve.”

The Blue Ribbon program honors public and private elementary, middle and high schools that are either academically superior or that demonstrate dramatic gains in student achievement to high levels. In 2014, there were 50 private schools nationally to receive the award, and 10 schools (public/private) in the state of Maryland, 3 of which were Catholic schools from the Archdiocese of Baltimore.

Of the 21 Catholic schools in the Archdiocese of Baltimore designated as a National Blue Ribbon School of Excellence, 11 have received the designation since 2009. The complete list of Blue Ribbon schools includes:

Immaculate Conception School, Towson, 2014-2015
Our Lady of Grace, Parkton, 2014-2015
The School of Cathedral of Mary Our Queen, Baltimore, 2014-2015
St. Joseph School, Cockeysville, 2013-2014
St. Margaret School, Bel Air, 2013-2014
St. Mary’s, Annapolis, 2013-2014
Notre Dame Preparatory School, Towson, 2012-13 and 1984-85
St. Augustine School, Elkridge, 2012-13
St. Louis Catholic School, 2010-11
Resurrection-St. Paul School, Ellicott City, 2009-10
St. John Regional School, Frederick, 2009-10
St. John the Evangelist, Severna Park, 2008-09
Trinity School, Ellicott City, 1998-99 and 1989-90
The John Carroll School, Bel Air, 1995-96
Archbishop Spalding High School, Severn, 1992-93
Calvert Hall College High School, Towson, 1988-89 and 1984-85
Mount St. Joseph High School, Baltimore, 1988-89
Archbishop Keough High School, 1987-88
Loyola Blakefield, Towson, 1986-87
St. Rita Catholic School, Dundalk, 1986-87
Mercy High School, Baltimore, 1984-85

About Catholic Schools in the Archdiocese of Baltimore:

  • More than 26,000 students in 69 Catholic schools;
  • 11 schools have received the National Blue Ribbon School of Excellence designation since 2009 and 21 schools in total;
  • Catholic elementary school students among all socio-economic backgrounds score higher than 60% of their peers nationally on standardized tests;
  • Catholic middle school students score in the top third on standardized tests in reading and math;
  • Catholic high school students average 100 points higher on the SAT than the national average; and
  • 99% of students graduate high school; 99% attend college.

To learn more about an Archdiocese of Baltimore Catholic school, call 1-800-5-CATHOLIC or visit

Sean Caine

Sean Caine is Vice Chancellor and Executive Director of Communications