Presbyteral Council Members

The presbyteral council, or consultative body of priests, which serves as a key advisory group to Archbishop Edwin F. O’Brien, has been formed. The 36-member council, required by the Code of Canon Law, is composed of 17 elected members, 15 appointed members and four ex officio members.
Archbishop Edwin F. O’Brien, chair

Elected members

Urban vicariate representatives:

Father M. Shawn Mahon, St. Thomas Aquinas, Hampden

Father Peter Lyons, T.O.R., St. Wenceslaus and St. Ann, Baltimore

Father Sylvester Peterka, C.M., Immaculate Conception/St. Cecilia, Baltimore

Father James P. Kiesel, St. Dominic, Baltimore

Eastern vicariate representatives:

Father Donald Grzymski, O.F.M. Conv., St. Clement Mary Hofbauer, Rosedale

Father Kevin T. Schenning, St. Joseph, Fullerton

Father Christopher J. Whatley, St. Mark, Catonsville

Monsignor James Barker, St. Ignatius, Hickory

Father Joseph F. Barr, Holy Family, Davidsonville

Western vicariate representatives:

Father Erik A. Arnold, Our Lady of Perpetual Help, Ellicott City

Father J. Kevin Farmer, Holy Family Catholic Community, Middletown

Father James W. Hannon, Seven Catholic faith communities of “Mountain Maryland”

Special ministries representatives:

Father Gil Seitz, tribunal

Father Gerard C. Francik, vocations director

Retired priests’ representative:

Father Salvatore J. Livigni, Church of the Annunciation, Rosedale

Religious priests’ representatives:

Father Timothy Kulbicki, O.F.M. Conv., St. Mary’s Seminary and University, Roland Park

Rev. William Rickle, S.J., Maryland Province of the Society of Jesus

Appointed members

Monsignor Robert Armstrong, Cathedral of Mary Our Queen, Homeland

Monsignor Thomas Bevan, St. Patrick, Cumberland

Father James A. Casciotti, S.J., St. Ignatius, Baltimore

Monsignor Paul G. Cook, St. Joseph, Cockeysville

Monsignor Richard E. Cramblitt, Shrine of the Sacred Heart, Mount Washington

Monsignor John A. Dietzenbach, St. Peter the Apostle, Libertytown

Monsignor Robert L. Hartnett, Our Lady of Mount Carmel, Essex

Father J. Bruce Jarboe, Holy Trinity, Glen Burnie

Monsignor James O. McGovern, Church of the Resurrection, Ellicott City

Father Rev. Kevin Milton, C.Ss.R., Our Lady of Fatima, Baltimore

Monsignor Damien Nalepa, St. Gregory the Great, Baltimore

Monsignor Thomas L. Phillips, St. Gabriel, Woodlawn

Monsignor G. Michael Schleupner, St. Margaret, Bel Air

Monsignor Arthur Valenzano, St. John, Westminster

Monsginor Richard Woy, St. John the Evangelist, Severna Park

Ex-officio members

Bishop W. Francis Malooly, western vicar

Bishop Mitchell Rozanski, eastern vicar

Bishop Denis J. Madden, urban vicar

Monsignor Robert Jaskot, chancellor

Catholic Review

The Catholic Review is the official publication of the Archdiocese of Baltimore.