Ordinaries of the Archdiocese of Baltimore

Since the Archdiocese of Baltimore was founded in 1789, it has been headed by 15 archbishops.
The following men served as archbishop of the oldest Catholic diocese in the United States, which at one time was responsible for Catholics living in an area that is recognized today as 37 states.
Bishop/Archbishop John Carroll, 1789-1815
Archbishop Leonard Neale, 1815-1817
Archbishop Ambrose Maréchal, 1817-1828
Archbishop James Whitfield, 1828-1834
Archbishop Samuel Eccleston, 1834-1851
Archbishop Francis P. Kenrick, 1851-1863
Archbishop Martin Spalding, 1864-1872
Archbishop James R. Bayley, 1872-1877
Cardinal James Gibbons, 1877-1921
Archbishop Michael Curley, 1921-1947
Archbishop Francis P. Keough, 1947-1961
Cardinal Lawrence Shehan, 1961-1974
Archbishop William D. Borders, 1974-1989
Cardinal William H. Keeler, 1989-2007
Archbishop Edwin F. O’Brien, 2007-
The Archdiocese of Baltimore serves approximately 500,000 Catholics worshiping in more than 150 parishes in Baltimore City and Allegany, Anne Arundel, Baltimore, Carroll, Frederick, Garrett, Harford, Howard and Washington counties.
More than 35,000 students are educated in 85 schools in the archdiocese.

Catholic Review

The Catholic Review is the official publication of the Archdiocese of Baltimore.