Mount St. Joseph takes top seed into 45th annual BCL tournament

By Paul McMullen

Twitter: @ReviewMcMullen
PIKESVILLE – Mount St. Joseph earned the top seed in the 45th annual Baltimore Catholic League tournament, while St. Frances Academy senior Daquan Bracey and John Carroll sophomore Immanuel Quickley were honored as the top players in a high school basketball league recognized as one of the nation’s best.

Bracey and Quickley were named co-Players of the Year Feb. 22 at an awards banquet in Pikesville. The trophy honors the late Jerry Savage, the Loyola Blakefield coach who helped found the BCL in 1972 and took ill at last year’s tournament.

Bracey led the Panthers to a runner-up finish in the BCL regular season, and then to a conquest of Mount St. Joseph in the Maryland Interscholastic Athletic Association A Conference tournament.

Gaels’ coach Pat Clatchey and Calvert Hall’s John Bauersfeld were honored as co-Coaches of the Year.

The guest speaker was Tom Rose, the Goucher College coach who spent the previous 13 seasons at Our Lady of Mount Carmel, where he was the BCL Coach of the Year for the 2014-15 season.

A complete list of BCL honors, and the schedule for the tournament, follow.

The Baltimore Catholic League all-league first team consists of, from left, Daquan Bracey and Kurk Lee Jr. of St. Frances Academy; Darryl Morsell and Pierre Johnson of Mount St. Joseph; and Immanuel Quickley of John Carroll. Bracey and Quickley were honored as co-Players of the Year. (Paul McMullen/CR Staff)

Baltimore Catholic League Honors

Jerry Savage co-Players of the Year: Daquan Bracey, St. Frances Academy, senior; Immanuel Quickley, John Carroll, sophomore

First Team

Bracey; Quickley; Kurk Lee Jr., St. Frances Academy, senior; Darryl Morsell, Mount St. Joseph, junior; Pierre Johnson, Mount St. Joseph, senior

Second Team
David Erebor, Mount Carmel, senior; Donte Doleman, St. Maria Goretti, senior; Randy Miller, Mount St. Joseph, senior; Terry Nolan Jr., Mount Carmel, junior; Brendan Adams, Calvert Hall, sophomore

Honorable mention
Mike Tertsea, John Carroll; Jalen Smith, Mount St. Joseph; Andrew Fava, Loyola Blakefield; Tairik Johnson, St. Frances Academy; Ameka Akaya, St. Maria Goretti

Mark Amatucci Defensive Player of the Year:
Pierre Johnson, Mount St. Joseph

Cokey Robertson Most Improved Player
: Tairik Johnson, St. Frances Academy

O. Ray Mullis co-Coaches of the Year:
John Bauersfeld, Calvert Hall; Pat Clatchey, Mount St. Joseph

Dave Kropfelder “Never, Never Quit” awards:
Justin Kane, Archbishop Spalding; Malik Morris, Calvert Hall; Mantvydas Urmilevicius, John Carroll; Cole Williams, Loyola Blakefield; Davon Davis, Mount Carmel; Jake Wyandt, Mount St. Joseph; Eral Penn, St. Frances Academy; Ryan Zinaich, St. Maria Goretti
45th annual Baltimore Catholic League Tournament
All games at Towson University’s SECU Arena
Seeds in parentheses
Quarterfinals Feb. 27
St. Frances Academy (2) vs. Archbishop Spalding (7), 2 p.m.
John Carroll (3) vs. Our Lady of Mount Carmel (6), 3:45 p.m.
Mount St. Joseph (1) vs. Loyola Blakefield (8), 5:30 p.m.
Calvert Hall (4) vs. St. Maria Goretti (5), 7:15 p.m.
Semifinals Feb. 28
1-8 winner vs. 4-5 winner, 7 p.m.
2-7 winner vs. 3-6 winner, 8:45 p.m.
Championship Feb. 29

Catholic Review

Catholic Review

The Catholic Review is the official publication of the Archdiocese of Baltimore.