Catholics Celebrate Feast of St. Patrick in the Archdiocese of Baltimore

Archbishop Edwin F. O’Brien has been named Honorary Grand Marshall for Baltimore’s annual St. Patrick’s Parade and will march with a group of Catholic school children in honor of 200 years of Catholic education. The Archbishop recently announced an initiative to strengthen Catholic schools in the Archdiocese. The parade takes place Sunday, March 15, with a 2 p.m. step-off at the Washington Monument in Mt. Vernon. See for more details.

On Tuesday, March 17, Bishop Denis J. Madden, Auxiliary Bishop of Baltimore, will celebrate Mass in honor of St. Patrick on at 10 a.m. at St. Patrick’s Catholic Church at Broadway and Bank Streets in Fells Point.

St. Patrick’s is one of the oldest Catholic parishes in Baltimore still in use today. Built in 1792 at Broadway and Bank St., the first bishop of the Diocese of Bardstown in Kentucky was ordained at St. Patrick’s in 1810—11 years before the completion of America’s First Cathedral, the Baltimore Basilica.

On Tuesday, March 17, Students in Catholic schools throughout the Archdiocese will be participating in activities which celebrate the “real meaning” of St. Patrick’s Day—commemoration of St. Patrick, bishop of the Church. Media interested in covering these school-related activities should contact the schools below directly.

Anne Arundel
St. John the Evangelist, Severna Park – 410-647-2283
Monsignor Slade, Glen Burnie – 410-766-7130

Baltimore City
St. Katharine School, East Baltimore – 410-327-4738
St. Mary, Govans – 410-435-5850

Baltimore County
Immaculate Conception, Towson – 410-427-4800
Notre Dame Preparatory, Towson – 443-921-2785
Our Lady of Grace, Parkton – 410-329-6956 x.130
St. Clare, Essex – 410-687-7787
St. Mark, Catonsville – 410-744-6560
St. John the Evangelist, Hydes – 410-592-9585 x.120

Frederick County
Mother Seton School, Emmitsburg – 301-447-3161

Harford County
St. Joan of Arc, Aberdeen – 410-272-1387

Howard County
Trinity School, Ellicott City – 410-744-1226

Sean Caine

Sean Caine is Vice Chancellor and Executive Director of Communications