Baltimore Archdiocesan Holy Name Union Convention

The Baltimore Archdiocesan Holy Name Union annual convention was held at the Basilica of the National Shrine of St. Elizabeth Ann Seton Conference and Retreat Center, Emmitsburg, on April 15.

Some 80 members were in attendance, from a total of 24 different parishes.

Father Joseph Breighner had planned to be the conference moderator but was ill and unable to participate. Concelebrants at the Mass in the basilica were Father Michael Kennedy, C.M., chaplain for the Daughters of Charity at the basilica, and Father Michael Carrion, spiritual director for the AHNU and pastor of Immaculate Heart of Mary, Baynesville.

The speaker at the awards banquet was Father Vincent O’Malley, C.M., pastor of St. Joseph, Emmitsburg. Sister Suzanne Baumgartner, D.C., from Transfiguration Catholic Community, Baltimore, was awarded outstanding spiritual director; Our Lady of the Fields, Millersville, was named outstanding parish society and St. Joseph, Taneytown, won outstanding parish sponsored project. Paul Yetter, from Our Lady of the Fields, Millersville, was awarded outstanding member and Larry Webster, president of the Holy Name Society at St. Joseph, Taneytown, was awarded outstanding officer.

The honoree at the banquet was John Dietrich, executive vice-president of the AHNU, until his death in last August 2006. An award was presented to his wife, Charlotte Dietrich, in recognition of the years of service Mr. Dietrich devoted to the AHNU.

Catholic Review

The Catholic Review is the official publication of the Archdiocese of Baltimore.