Big man Smith looks to keep Mount St. Joseph rolling

By Catholic Review Staff
Jalen Smith, a 6-foot-9-inch junior who led Mount St. Joseph to a share of first place in the Baltimore Catholic League regular season, swept the Player of the Year and Defensive Player of the Year honors.

One of the nation’s top basketball recruits in the class of 2018, Smith is averaging 17 points, nine rebounds and three blocked shots per game for coach Pat Clatchey’s Gaels. In garnering Player of the Year recognition from coaches and media, Smith beat out John Carroll junior Immanuel Quickley, who earned a share of the award last year.

The honors were announced Feb. 20, during a luncheon at the Doubletree in Pikesville.

The guest speaker was Orlando “Bino” Ranson, a University of Maryland assistant coach who graduated from St. Frances Academy. Ranson stressed the rich history of the BCL, and the accountability that is required of players to maintain it.

Mount St. Joseph and St. Maria Goretti both finished 11-3 in the regular season, and will open the 46th annual BCL tournament at home March 2. The semifinals and finals will be played at Goucher College, March 4 and 5, respectively.

Mount St. Joseph first has the Maryland Interscholastic Athletic Association A Conference tournament, which concludes Feb. 26. The Gaels went unbeaten in A Conference play. The school’s ice hockey, indoor track and field, and wrestling teams have already claimed MIAA tournament or postseason championships.

Jalen Smith averages 17 points, nine rebounds and three blocked shots per game for Mount St. Joseph. (Kevin J. Parks/CR Staff)

Baltimore Catholic League 2016-17 All-League Teams
Jerry Savage Player of the Year and Mark Amatucci Defensive Player of the Year – Jalen Smith, Mount St. Joseph, junior

Cokey Robertson Most Improved Player – Jaden Robinson, Mount St. Joseph, senior
O. Ray Mullis Coach of the Year – Matt Miller, St. Maria Goretti
First Team: Jalen Smith, Mount St. Joseph, junior; Immanuel Quickley, John Carroll, junior; Elijah Clarance, St. Maria Goretti, senior; Darryl Morsell, Mount St. Joseph, senior; Terry Nolan Jr., Our Lady of Mount Carmel, senior
Second Team: Brendan Adams, Calvert Hall, junior; Eral Penn, St. Frances Academy, senior; Montez Mathis, John Carroll, junior; Kenny Lewis, Loyola Blakefield, senior; Jake Kuhn, St. Maria Goretti, senior
Honorable mention: Buzz Anthony, Archbishop Spalding; James Bishop, Mount St. Joseph; R.J. Blakney, St. Maria Goretti, Jordan Jones, Our Lady of Mount Carmel, Logan Curtis, Calvert Hall; Josh Cornish, Calvert Hall; Jordan Goodwin, St. Frances Academy; Adrian Baldwin, St. Francis Academy
Dave Kropfelder “Never, Never Quit” Awards: Jack Lonergan, Archbishop Spalding; D’Yante Doughty, Calvert Hall; Qadir Ismail, John Carroll; Patrick Norris, Loyola Blakefield; Devin Gaines, Our Lady of Mount Carmel; Nigel Jackson, Mount St. Joseph; Rajear Jones, St. Frances Academy; Kyle Pope, St. Maria Goretti
46th annual BCL Tournament
Quarterfinals March 2
Seeds in parentheses

Loyola Blakefield (8) at Mount St. Joseph (1), 7 p.m.
Archbishop Spalding at St. Maria Goretti (2), 7 p.m.
Calvert Hall (6) at Mount Carmel (3), 7 p.m.
St. Frances Academy (5) at John Carroll (4), 7 p.m.
Semifinals March 4
6:15 p.m. and 8 p.m. at Goucher College
Championship March 5
1 p.m. at Goucher College

Read more sports stories here.

Catholic Review

The Catholic Review is the official publication of the Archdiocese of Baltimore.