Ordinaries of the Archdiocese of Baltimore

Since the Archdiocese of Baltimore was founded in 1789, it has been headed by 15 archbishops.

The following men served as archbishop of the oldest Catholic diocese in the United States, which at one time was responsible for Catholics living in an area that is recognized today as 37 states.

Bishop/Archbishop John Carroll, 1789-1815

Archbishop Leonard Neale, 1815-1817

Archbishop Ambrose Maréchal, 1817-1828

Archbishop James Whitfield, 1828-1834

Archbishop Samuel Eccleston, 1834-1851

Archbishop Francis P. Kenrick, 1851-1863

Archbishop Martin Spalding, 1864-1872

Archbishop James R. Bayley, 1872-1877

Cardinal James Gibbons, 1877-1921

Archbishop Michael Curley, 1921-1947

Archbishop Francis P. Keough, 1947-1961

Cardinal Lawrence Shehan, 1961-1974

Archbishop William D. Borders, 1974-1989

Cardinal William H. Keeler, 1989-2007

Archbishop Edwin F. O'Brien, 2007-

The Archdiocese of Baltimore serves approximately 500,000 Catholics worshiping in more than 150 parishes in Baltimore City and Allegany, Anne Arundel, Baltimore, Carroll, Frederick, Garrett, Harford, Howard and Washington counties.

More than 35,000 students are educated in 85 schools in the archdiocese.