Mount St. Joseph top seed in Baltimore Catholic League tournament

Mount St. Joseph, behind two-time Player of the Year Eric Atkins, earned the top seed and a first-round bye in the 39th annual Baltimore Catholic League tournament. The boys' basketball showcase, at Loyola University Maryland's Reitz Arena, begins Feb. 27 and concludes March 1.

First-round games Feb. 27 match second-seeded St. Frances against St. Maria Goretti at 5 p.m.; third-seeded Calvert Hall against Loyola Blakefield at 6:45 p.m.; and fourth-seeded Cardinal Gibbons against Archbishop Spalding at 8:30 p.m.

The Feb. 28 semifinals match Mount St. Joseph against the Gibbons-Spalding winner, 6:45 p.m.. The other first-round winners meet at 8:30 p.m.

The March 1 championshp game tips off at 7 p.m.

Mount St. Joseph and St. Frances Academy, the Maryland Interscholastic Athletic Association A Conference tournament champion, have both received invitations to the Alhambra Catholic Invitational at Frostburg State University March 18-20.

Atkins, a senior guard headed to Notre Dame University, was honored at the BCL banquet Feb. 23 at Snyder's Willow Grove in Linthicum.

He was joined on the BCL all-star team by teammate Ryley Beaumont, a fellow senior; Calvert Hall seniors Jonathan Graham and Damion Lee; Cardinal Gibbons senior Dylon Cormier and Wayne Sparrow, a St. Frances senior.

The second team consisted of Dante Holmes and Gregory Lewis of St. Frances; Matt Miller of Mount St. Joseph, Nic Martin of St. Maria Goretti and Matt Mathias of Loyola. Lewis, a junior, was the only-non senior.

Donya Jackson of Calvert Hall, Erik Fisher of Cardinal Gibbons, Connor McRoy of

Archbishop Spalding, R.J. Williams of St. Frances and Mike Fitzpatrick of Loyola received honorable mention.

The "Never, Never Quit" Awards went to Jeff Janosek, Spalding; Sean Wise, Calvert Hall; Brooks Healy, Gibbons; Emmett Cahill, Loyola; Matt Miller, Mount St. Joseph; Jason Jones Jr., St. Frances; and Jay Donoghue, St. Maria Goretti.