Four Archdiocese of Baltimore schools earn National Blue Ribbon status

Four Catholic schools in the Archdiocese of Baltimore have been selected by the the U.S. Department of Education to the National Blue Ribbon School of Excellence Award.

St. John the Evangelist School in Long Green Valley and St. Mary Catholic School in Hagerstown received the distinction for the first time. St. Louis School in Clarksville and St. John Regional Catholic School in Frederick were honored for a second time.

Twenty-five schools in the archdiocese, including 14 since 2010, have earned the Blue Ribbon designation, the highest academic honor bestowed upon a school by the U.S. government.

“I am extremely proud of our Catholic schools,” said James Sellinger, chancellor of education, in a news release from the archdiocese. “The honor of achieving Blue Ribbon designation reinforces the academic excellence and quality Catholic education we provide our students and families in the Archdiocese of Baltimore.”

According to the news release, the Blue Ribbon program was established in 1982 by Secretary of Education Terrell H. Bell. It honors public and private elementary, middle and high schools that are either academically superior or that demonstrate dramatic gains in student achievement to high levels.

More than 25,000 students attend 64 Catholic schools in the Archdiocese of Baltimore.

The complete list of Blue Ribbon schools in the archdiocese follows, with this year’s winners in bold:

  • Archbishop Keough High School, 1987-1988
  • Archbishop Spalding High School, Severn, 1992-1993
  • Calvert Hall College High School, Towson, 1984-1985 and 1988-1989
  • The John Carroll School 1995-1996
  • Loyola Blakefield, Towson, 1986-1987
  • Mount St. Joseph High School, Baltimore, 1988-1989
  • Mercy High School, Baltimore, 1984-1985
  • Notre Dame Preparatory School, Towson, 1984-1985 and 2012-2013
  • Immaculate Conception School, Towson, 2014-2015
  • Our Lady of Grace School, Parkton, 2014-2015
  • Our Lady of Perpetual Help, Ellicott City, 2015-2016
  • Resurrection-St. Paul School, Ellicott City, 2009-2010
  • The School of the Cathedral of Mary our Queen, 2014-2015
  • St. Augustine School, Elkridge, 2012-2013
  • St. John Regional School, Frederick, 2009-2010 and 2016-2017
  • St. John the Evangelist School, Long Green Valley, 2016-2017
  • St. John the Evangelist School, Severna Park, 2008-2009
  • St. Joseph School, Cockeysville, 2013-2014
  • St. Joseph School, Fullerton, 2015-2016
  • St. Louis Catholic School, 2010-11 and 2016-2017
  • St. Margaret School, Bel Air, 2013-2014
  • St. Mary’s, Annapolis, 2013-2014
  • St. Mary Catholic School, Hagerstown 2016-2017
  • St. Rita Catholic School, Dundalk, 1986-87
  • Trinity School, Ellicott City, 1989-90 and 1998-99

Also see:

Hagerstown Blue Ribbon involves multi-generational commitment

Hydes school students celebrate Blue Ribbon status

Catholic Review Staff

Catholic Review Staff

The Catholic Review is the official publication of the Archdiocese of Baltimore.