## College of Notre Dame grads named county teachers of the year

Four College of Notre Dame of Maryland graduates have been named "Teacher of the Year" in their respective Maryland counties: Melissa McFayden, a pre-kindergarten teacher at Ridgely Elementary School in Caroline County; John Billingslea, an AP psychology teacher at Franklin High School in Reisterstown; Bonnie Beavan, math teacher at Spring Ridge Middle School in Lexington Park; and Ronald Wooden, a fifth-grade teacher at George D. Lisby Elementary School in Aberdeen. Mr. Wooden participated in this year's commencement ceremony May 24.

"College of Notre Dame long has been recognized as one of the state's largest and most significant private providers of teacher education," said Dr. Mary Pat Seurkamp, president. "We are proud that four of our graduates have been honored as teachers of the year in their counties. It's a strong testament to the quality of education provided by College of Notre Dame."