Untitled Document /
Catholic Schools
  Home Students Parents Press
  Blue Ribbon Committee on Catholic Schools

To develop a comprehensive strategic plan for Catholic schools, the Archbishop appointed the Blue Ribbon Committee on Catholic Schools, a group of esteemed leaders in our community representing the fields of education, philanthropy and business. The Committee includes school superintendents, philanthropists, community leaders, educational experts, and representatives from parishes and schools.

Frank Bramble, an executive with many years of local and national experience with financial institutions and a deep commitment to Catholic schools, was selected to Chair the Committee. The Committee has been working diligently for the past year and is on target to deliver its report to the Archbishop in June of this year.

This plan will include detailed recommendations addressing the fundamental areas of school mission, performance operation and administration. Specifically, the Committee is examining the areas of Catholic identity, Academic Excellence, Governance, and Stewardship. Key findings from their work is chronicled here.

Listening Sessions

As part of this effort, the committee and its staff held listening sessions at 10 locations throughout the Archdiocese. Catholic school parents, teachers, and others were strongly encouraged to participate. View the summary of the listening sessions.

Archbishop's Consultations with Priests, Pastoral Life Directors, School Presidents & Principals

As part of the ongoing strategic planning process, Archbishop O’Brien has held four days of consultations with Priests, Pastoral Life Directors, School Presidents and Principals, two in February, 2009 and two in October, 2009. Below are summaries of those sessions, as well as Archbishop O’Brien’s remarks.

Summary of Priests, Pastoral Life Directors, School Presidents and Principals Consultation – October, 2009

Priests / Pastoral Life Directors Consultation - February 2009

Principals / Presidents Consultatio - February 2009

Leadership Consultation - State of Catholic Schools - February 2009

Remarks of Archbishop Edwin F. O'Brien
Pastoral Consultation on Catholic Schools
February 10, 2009

Presentations to the Blue Ribbon Committee on Catholic Schools

Presentation to the Blue Ribbon Committee by Karen Murphy on behalf of the Elementary School Principals Association
May 29, 2009

Presentation to the Blue Ribbon Committee by Fran Critzman on behalf of the Archdiocesan Board of Advisors to the Superintendent
July 10, 2009

Public Comments

The Blue Ribbon Committee on Catholic Schools invited the public to submit comments about the future of Catholic schools in the Archdiocese. The comment period was open from May 15, 2009 until November 15, 2009. A summary of the public comments will be posted here in early 2010.

Press Releases

Mar 13, 2009
Catholic Schools Blue Ribbon Committee Holds First Meeting on Wednesday, March 18

Feb 10, 2009
Archbishop Consults With Priests, Introduces Blue Ribbon Committee to Address Challenges Facing Catholic Schools

Blue Ribbon Committee on Catholic Schools

  1. Mr. Frank Bramble (Chair), Board of Directors, Bank of America Corp.
  2. Rev. Msgr. Robert Hartnett, D. Min., (Executive Director), Pastor, Our Lady of Mount Carmel
  3. Dr. Andres Alonso, CEO, Baltimore City Public Schools
  4. Ms. Maureen Creel, Teacher, St. John the Evangelist Catholic School
  5. Mr. James Davis, Co-Chairman, Director, Allegis Group
  6. Dr. Nancy Grasmick, Superintendent, Maryland State Department of Education
  7. Dr. Joe Hairston, Superintendent, Baltimore County Public Schools
  8. Mr. Owen M. Knott, Vice President, The Marion I. and Henry J. Knott Foundation
  9. Rev. Michael Martin, OFM conv., President, Archbishop Curley High School
  10. Rev. Joseph Muth, Jr., Pastor, St. Matthew Catholic Church
  11. Mrs. Pamela Sanders, Principal, St. Ambrose Catholic School
  12. Dr. Mary Pat Seurkamp, President, College of Notre Dame of Maryland
  13. Mr. James Stojak, Retired Director, Citicorp Credit Service, Inc., Hagerstown
  14. Mr. Casper Taylor, Former Speaker, Maryland House of Delegates
  15. Sr. Helen Wiegmann, S.S.J., Teacher and Health Care Minister at Sacred Heart Catholic School
  16. Mr. Thomas Wilcox, President and CEO, Baltimore Community Foundation
  17. Rabbi Lawrence Ziffer, Director, Center for Jewish Education of Baltimore

Staff to the Blue Ribbon Committee on Catholic Schools

Msgr. Robert Hartnett, Executive Director
Mark Pacione, Associate Director
Mary Ellen Fise, Program Director

Receive Updates by Email

* required



©2010 Archdiocese of Baltimore. Report an error on this page. Comments