Compliance with Maryland Reporting Laws
The Archdiocese of Baltimore complies with Maryland laws regarding reporting suspected Abuse and Neglect to civil authorities and cooperates with civil authorities investigating reports of suspected Abuse or Neglect by anyone, including but not limited to Church Personnel..
Under Maryland law, any person who has reason to believe a child has been subjected to Abuse (including Sexual Abuse) or Neglect must make a report to the local office of Department of Social Services or Law Enforcement as soon as possible.
Alleged Abuse or Neglect that occurred when the victim was under 18 years of age must be reported, even if the victim is now over 18 years of age and even in cases when the alleged perpetrator is deceased.
Specific professionals, including educators and health practitioners who have reason to believe a child has been subjected to Abuse or Neglect must 1) make an oral report to the local office of Department of Social Services or law enforcement as soon as possible and 2) make a written report within 48 hours to the local Department of Social Services with a copy to the local State’s Attorney.
Church Personnel should also notify the head of the institution about the suspected Abuse or Neglect.
Any person who has knowledge of an incident involving the production, possession, distribution, or receipt of child pornography must make a report to law enforcement as soon as possible.
Any person who has reason to believe a child resides with or is in the regular presence of an individual who poses a substantial risk of sexual abuse to the child, may notify the local Department of Social Services or law enforcement.
The Responsible Administrator or his/her designee should not investigate an allegation of Abuse before making the required report. Questions regarding reporting procedures may be directed to the Archdiocese of Baltimore’s Office of Child and Youth Protection.